Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 


 


Council of Albany Neighborhood Associations

Meeting Minutes April 4, 2007

Albany Public Library

 

 

1)      Introductions

 

Representatives of Albany Police Department and New York State Troopers are present, and will attend later meetings to address any issues that CANA members may have.

 

 

2)      Guest Speaker: Sandy Misiewicz, Capital District Transportation Committee

 

The Capital District Transportation Committee represents 78 municipalities. Their responsibilities include:

·        Creation of a long range transportation plan

·        Creation of a short range transportation improvement program (Federal funding of $100 million)

·        Formation of a unified planning work program

 

New Visions Plan

·        Preserve and manage systems

·        Develop regional potential

·        Plan and build for all modes

·        Link transportation and land use

 

Three studies were done in Albany

1)      North Swan Street Multimodal Accessibility Study

2)      Harriman Campus/UAlbany Linkage Study

3)      Rt. 5 Corridor

 

Misiewicz also discussed plans that are currently underway at the Harriman Campus, University at Albany, and Patroon Creek.

 

She then went into detail about the Rt. 5 Corridor study that was completed in 2001.

·        Resolution have been signed by five municipalities and the Metorplex

·        Bus/rapid transit conceptual design study completed in 2005.

·        CDTA is currently undertaking a transition plan and will publish a transit       system rout map in the future

 

 

 

 

 

Implementation activities include:

·        Station design

·        Colonie Corp/Zoning Code (encourages mixed uses at transit stop)

·        Schenectady transit oriented development study underway

·        Village of Colonie Streetscape study is completed

·        Central Avenue Rehab project (1-90 to Everett Rd. )

 

Misiewicz also noted that the projects are 80% funded through the Federal Government, and suggested that members check out the commission’s website at www.CDTCMPO.org.

 

 

3)      Committee Reports

·        University and Community Relations

Tom Gebhardt discussed the six-point plan for Trash to Treasure, which will be coordinated with the spring trash schedule, and discussed ways that students can avoid having their apartments broken into while they are away on spring break.

 

·        Codes

Met with city officials and a meeting is being set up with Mayor Jennings.

 

·        NRC

Gene Solan introduced Sarah Reginelli and Chris Leo from the City of Albany Department of Development and Planning. They discussed Albany’s selection as Sustainable Design Assessment Team (SDAT) program city.  The SDAT program consists of $20,000 worth of consulting services that will assist in devising a recommendation plan that will eventually be worked in the Comprehensive plan.

 

Sarah and Chris also recommended that CANA members attend the April 11th charrette that will be held at the Albany Public Library.

 

4)      Minutes

The minutes of March 7, 2007 meeting are adopted with corrections.

 

 

5)   New Business and Announcements

It was determined that CANA did not have an official position on landfill. Suggestions were made for a structured discussion on that subject.

 

 

 

 

 

 

CANA

March 7, 2007 Meeting Attendees

 

 

Name

Association

Address

Joe Cunniff

UWANA

Jcunniff@nycap.rr.com

Karen Cunniff

UWANA

Kcunniff@nycap.rr.com

Jim Lyons

Melrose

Jlyons@ nycap.rr.com

Daniel Van Riper

Lincoln Park NA

dwvr@mac.com

Lynne Jackson

Albany Bicycle Coalition

lynnejacson@mac.com

John Paneto

Shaker Park

John.Paneto@cs.state.ny.us

Helen Klaysen

West End

johnhelenk@netzero.com

Bill Law

Mt. Hope Townhouse

lawwi@yahoo.com

Pat Maxon

Upper Washington

maxdanys@aol.com

Mary Martialay

Daily Gazette

mmartialay@dailygazette.com

Bill Newman

Step It Up 2007 – Climate Crisis

Bnewman_8@yahoo.com

Joseph McElroy

North Albany NA

statewideany@verizon.net

Donald Odell

Albany Bicycle Coalition

Odell.don@gmail.com

Donald Wardle

United Tenants

125 Dove St. 12202

Blake Pavlik

Mansion Hill NA

69 Trinity Place

Tori Mertins

Senior, Vorheesville H.S.

mollyboo@yahoo.com

Sarah Reginelli

City DDP

reginellis@ci.albany.ny.us

John Cirrin

Albany Library

 

Chris Leo

City DDP

leoc@ci.albany.ny.us

Mike Fagione

Albany Police Dept.

 

Seamus Leavey

NY State Police

 

Al Martin

Albany Police Dept.

amartin@albany-ny.org

Susan Holland

HAF

SusanEliz2@msn.com

Mary Lou Nolan-Gillham

Albany Bicycle Coalition

mlngillham@nycapp.rr.com

Harold Rubin

Center Sq. Assoc.

 

Colin McKnight

Mansion NA

colinnalbany@yahoo.com

Marggie Skinner

Pine Hills

marggies@earthlink.net

Kathleen Rissberger

Albany Police Dept.

krissberger@albany-ny.org

Andrew Harvey

PSNA

Aach2004@aol.com

Tom Gebhardt

UAlbany

tgebhardt@uamail.albany.edu

Betsy Shearer

PSNA

bshearer@quixnet.net

Howard Stoller

CANA

hstoller@aol.com

Jack Moodie

Ten Broeck

Blaise1984@yahoo.com

Gene Solan

Pine Hills NA

gsolan1@yahoo.com

Andrew Bechard

Helderberg NA

abechard@capital.net