Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 


 


Council of Albany Neighborhood Associations

Meeting Minutes of November 7, 2001

 

Albany Public Library

 

    1. Howard Stoller, CANA Chair, called the meeting to order.
    2. Introductions
    3. Minutes: The website address of the Historic Albany Foundation was corrected and the minutes of the September 5, 2001, meeting were accepted.
    4. GUEST SPEAKER: The Superintendent of the City School District of Albany, Lonnie Palmer, presented information on the facilities long-range plan. A copy of the information presented is available on the CANA website. Several members expressed concerns and had questions.

The construction manager selected for the project is the firm of Pike-Heery.

The amount of money to be spent will be determined by the voters. No additional funds are available to cover budget over-runs except by an additional vote.

The District’s administrative offices will be relocated to Livingston rather than an existing vacant building because there is no State aid available to rebuild administrative offices.

The facilities design plan accommodates for both expansion of the student population as well as the transfer of additional students if the charter schools close.

5. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Committee on University and Community Relations – Tom Gebhardt

The next Committee meeting will be held on November 14, 2001, at the Albany Police Department, 526 Central Avenue. Members of the Albany Citizens Police Review Board will make a presentation and the Campus-Community Crime Prevention Coalition will give updated information. The Committee has begun two advertising campaigns—one suggesting that and carbon monoxide detector batteries be changed and one about safe trick-or-treating.

Quality of Life Surveys – David Phaff

Approximately 1900 responses were received, and the compiled data will be presented at the Neighborhoods Work II Conference on December 1, 2001. The software used to compile the information in the surveys prohibits sorting responses by neighborhood; therefore, it will be presented by zip codes.

Executive Committee – Howard Stoller

The CANA website has moved to http://members.tripod.com/councilalbanyna/. The old one has a link to the new one.

6. NEW BUSINESS

Neighborhoods Work II Conference - Gene Solan

The conference will be held on Saturday, December 1, 2001, at the First Lutheran Church hall. Volunteers are needed to assist at the conference and to help set up the afternoon before.

 

Albany Public Library – Jeff Cannell

At the December 5, 2001, CANA meeting information will be presented about the library’s proposals for a new charter.

City of Albany Budget

CANA members will be present at the meeting on November 14 budget hearing to propose to the city that a more understandable budget be presented.

New Members are needed for the CANA Budget Committee. Harold Rubin will suggest two members.

 

ARISE (A Regional Initiative Supporting Empowerment) – Tom McPheeters

ARISE will convene a town hall meeting at 7:00 on November 13, 2001, at Temple Israel. Some of the issues on the agenda for that meeting include teen activity programs, business movements, gang prevention, and education. The group encourages more neighborhood associations to join ARISE.

A motion was made to endorse the school district’s facilities improvement plan; however, the vote was postponed until the December 5, 2001, meeting so that more CANA members may participate.

Endorsing the facilities plan – Howard Stoller raised the question of whether CANA should endorse the School District Facilities Plan that Lonnie Palmer presented on earlier. He made a motion to endorse it which was seconded, but discussion was postponed for the December 5 meeting.

Harold Rubin convened the meeting at 8:40.

CANA MEETING ATTENDEES

November 7, 2001

NAME

ASSOCIATION

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Howie Stoller

Melrose

Hstoller@aol.com

Harold Rubin

Center Square

HRChestnut@aol.com

Tom Gebhardt

PSNA

tgebhardt@uamail.albany.edu

Gene Solan

Pine Hills/WRC

 

Betsy Shearer

PSNA

bshearer@Quixtar

Colin McKnight

Mansion

collinnalbany@yahoo.com

David Phaff

New Albany NA

dphaff@yahoo.com

Mary Connari

DANA

 

Colleen Ryan

Historic Albany Council

Ryanc@crisny.org

G. Mowbray

Hudson Park

463-4310

Daniel Van Riper

LPNA

Dwvr@atecone.net

Matthew Montesano

Albany Police Department

Cruiser603@hotmail.com

Jeff Cannell

Albany Public Library

Cannellj@uhls.lib.ny.us

Martin Gawoski

West Hill

Gawoskimd@hotmail.com

John Cirrin

Albany Public Library

Cirrinj@uhls.lib.ny.us

Fred Perkins

Pine Hills

FredMpork@aol.com

Jeff Cannell

Albany Public Library

cannellj@uhls.library.us

Kay Maynard

City of Albany DDP

maynardk@ci.albany.ny.us

Kate Frank

City of Albany DDP

Frankk@ci.albany.ny.us

Martin Duffy

Albany Housing Authority

mduffy@albanyhousing.org

Stephen Winters

SANA

sdoxie@aol.com

John A. Frederick

Hudson Park NA

Janthony01@yahoo.com

Tom McPheeters

Mansion NA

Focustom@aol.com

Henry Madej

Pine Hills NA

hmmadej@yahoo.com

Aimee Allaud

Melrose NA

aimee@nycap.rr.com

Donald Wardle

United Tenants of Albany