Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 


 


Council of Albany Neighborhood Associations

Meeting Minutes October 3, 2007

Albany Public Library

 

 

I. Introduction

 President Howard Stoller made brief remarks and everyone introduced themselves.

 

 

II. Tom Nitido, Albany City Comptroller

 

City Comptroller Tom Nitido discussed the just introduced 2008 Albany City Budget.  He emphasized that it was the Mayor’s budget and not his.  He pointed out that Albany cannot afford the government that we currently have, but we can afford the services with some tough choices.

 

There is $8 million less revenues to expenses in this budget and it is not “sustainable or tolerable.” The City raised $2 million more from property taxes but also landfill revenues were down $2 million.  He pointed out Albany ’s continual dependence on drawing money from the Reserve Fund.  He stated that the Mayor must put energy into cutting expenses due to the fact that the tax rate is relatively high and the property tax burden is “real.”

 

He then took questions from CANA members.

 

 

III. Emily Collins, Habit for Humanity, ReSTORE manager

 

Emily Collins discussed Habitat for Humanity’s ReSTORE program, which takes donations from stores and gently used items from people, and sells them to the public to benefit their housing projects.  The store is located at 696 Delaware Avenue and open on Fridays and Saturdays. The store will soon be moving to a larger space on North Pearl Street.

 

She then discussed the project that Habitat for Humanity is currently working on in the South End at Third and Elizabeth.  The discussion moved to restoring current homes, but she pointed out that restoring is a more expensive process (they will look into it though).

 

 

III. Minutes Approved

 

IV. Police Issues

 

Officers Janet Parker and Willie Flack discussed a robbery in the Center Square area and a graffiti incident.  They also talked about the shifting of police officers due to the recent retirement of other officers. On that note; they wanted everyone to know that the Albany Police Department exam was coming up in November.  There was also discussion about the Community Service program.

 

 

V.  Committee on University and Community Relations

 

Tom Gebhardt discussed safety and security initiatives that were being implemented and a letter to the editor that was co-written by Chief Tuffey and himself that was printed in the Albany Student Press.  The next meeting was to be held on October 12th.

 

VI. November Meeting

 

Howard asked for ideas for the November 6th meeting.

 

VII. Adjourned

 

Meeting adjourned at 8:48 pm.

 

 

CANA

October 3, 2007 Meeting Attendees

 

 

Name

Association

Address

Joe Cunniff

UWANA

jcunniff@nycap.rr.com

Daniel Van Riper

Lincoln Park NA

223 S. Swan St.

dwvr@mac.com

Lynne Jackson

Albany Bicycle Coalition

223 S. Swan St. 12202

lynnejackson@mac.com

Helen Klaysen

West End

johnhelenk@netzero.com

Bill Law

Mt. Hope Townhouse

lawwi@yahoo.com

Pat Maxson

Upper Washington Ave NA

maxDANYS@aol.com

Mary Connair

DANA

mconnair@yahoo.com

Peter Rinne

Park South

47 Morris St.

Karen Strong

Center Square NA

Bnewman_8@yahoo.com

Roger Markovics

Unite Tenants

utab@verizon.net

Alexandra Juhre

Unaffiliated

Lexa218@earthlink.net

Emily Collins

Habitat for Humanity

Emily@capitaldistricthabitat.org

Judy Martin

 

131 Jay St.

Jim Truscott

 

131 Jay St.

John Cirrin

Albany Library

 

Janet Parker

Albany P.D.

JParker@albany-ny.org

Richard Conti

Albany Common Council

RC6thward@aol.com

Wilie Flack III

Albany P.D.

wflack@albany-ny.org

Kelly Bush

Center Square Assoc

Bri_kel_98@yahoo.com

Rev. Joyce Hartwell

West Hill NA

revjoy@nycap.rr.com

Harold Rubin

Center Sq. Assoc.

HRchestnut@aol.com

Holly Katz

Mansion NA

harriskatz@mac.com

Julie Elson

NSWL

Jelson510@earthlink.net

Tom Gebhardt

UAlbany

tgebhardt@uamail.albany.edu

Howard Stoller

CANA

hstoller@aol.com

Gene Solan

Pine Hills NA

gsolan@yahoo.com

Virginia Hammer

Pine Hills NA

vhammer@gmail.com

Mimi Mounteer

West End NA

 

Andrew Harvey

Park South

Aach2004@aol.com

Jack Moodie

Ten Broeck Triangle

Blaise1984@yahoo.com

Brad Glass

City Planning Dept.

glassb@ci.albany.ny.us